Big audition today for a small role!

30Sep08

On Friday I had an audition for a principal role in a feature film, which was a project “on Deferral”. I was excited to do the audition for a couple of reasons, one being that I got to be seen by the casting director who I haven’t been in front of in almost 2 years! She was just as professional and warm as the last time I auditioned for one of her projects and I’m happy I went. Another reason is that most of my auditions these days have been for commercials, so it’s nice to get out there and “act”.

Then I got a call that evening from my agent… she had an audition for me (for today) for an actor role in a major feature film. It’s for a small role, but man, this would be huge! It’s for a movie being produced by, and starring Halle Berry!

I was actually a little anxious about this one. It’s such a small part, and I’ve never really auditioned for an actor role before. It’s mostly been for leads or principals. (Note – an “actor” role generally means you have less than 5 lines in the project.) Anyway, I got some advice from some people in the biz, and they reinforced what I normally do for auditions, so I felt pretty good about that.

I just got back to my day job from my audition, and I’m really happy with how things went. It was interesting because they brought in a casting director from Toronto to cast it (it will be filming in Vancouver). She was nice and seemed to genuinely like my choices. I did my scenes, she commented positively and thanked me, and that was it. Everything was so tightly run that I was in and out of there even before my scheduled audition time (I always arrive a little bit early)!

Sadly, it will be a bit of a crapshoot. They were seeing all sorts of different types of women for this role, so I guess it will come down to what race they want to cast (asian, caucasion, african american, etc.), and then from there, what sort of look they want. Sigh, only in this crazy business, eh?

But again, I’m happy with the character I created, and how I presented it, so I guess that’s all I can do! Wish me luck! 😀

One Response to “Big audition today for a small role!”

  1. 1 Mike, the Displaced Canadian

    *crosses fingers!*


Leave a Reply

