Building up my acting wardrobe

03Sep08

Last night was great! It started with a call in the afternoon from my agent – I have an audition for tomorrow, and I’m to wear a lab coat (since I will be playing a scientist). These sorts of wardrobe calls always get me in a bit of a fluster because I don’t have the right wardrobe pieces, then I’m always running around tearing things out of my closet trying to find things that remotely resemble what I should be wearing. The last couple of times I’ve tried searching for places that sell the required items (chef’s jackets, scrubs, lab coats, etc) but the results were only coming up with places that sell them in huge quantities. I tried again yesterday, and voila! I found a place! I called them and they indeed sold pieces off the rack, were open until 6:00pm (which meant I could make it there after work) and had tons in stock.

My original intent was to get a lab coat, but they had everything there! So I ended up leaving with a lab coat, a set of scrubs, and a chef’s jacket. It was a little costlier than I had anticipated, but now I never have to worry about what to wear when I get these calls. My scrubs are the best – I tried on a few pairs (they had zillions!) and the one that was the most comfortable, and had the best fit, of course, were the most expensive. But the brand is what’s funny… they’re called “Grey’s Anatomy”. No, I didn’t buy them for the name. They’re so comfy – it’s more like a brushed cotton, rather than the traditional stiffer scrubs… so soft! And so much more fit conscious than the scrubs I had to wear for Plague City (I looked like a kid playing dress up because they were so big).

It’s the little things like this that go towards making my day. 🙂

One Response to “Building up my acting wardrobe”

  1. What’s up to every single one, it’s really a good for me to visit this website, it includes valuable Information.


Leave a Reply

